Just Be There

I no longer stand people who are simply not present. Not only they’re not there for you, but they’re not participating in their own lives too. You can recognize them by the fact that they keep saying “sorry” or “I can’t” or “I have to do something else” or “I couldn’t go, because…” following the stupidest lies.

I no longer stand people who make up excuses for not being there for you or for not taking the time to enjoy the beauty of their lives. Because you do only live once, so you have to make the best out of it. And I am sick of people who keep missing out of things for no good reasons.

All I’m asking is being in my family’s, my friend’s and in my dearest one’s thoughts. This is all I want for the next 60 years: for people to be there for me and for me to be able to be there for them. That’s all I want for my next birthdays, Christmas and any other event.

Now I really find surprising how some people just don’t get it. They keep saying how hard it is to keep alive relationships or how demanding of time and care friendships are, while all those things are asking is for you to be there. It really is as simple as that. Be there mentally and physically, being ready to give a hug or to just say one word. You’d be amazed how just one word or the touch of a hand can go a long way. No gift can make up for you not being present at the actual event. No excuse is solid enough for you to miss out of the beautiful things in life.

All I can really say is that I feel sorry for those who keep missing parties, weddings, graduations, birthdays, trips and all that kind of stuff that makes us all feel alive. Because if you really want to be there, well you find a way to be there. And if you can’t get the joy of being at your mom’s birthday, at your friend’s party or at your brother’s wedding then I can’t really teach you how to do it. The beauty and the peace that comes from saying “I was there”, it’s no subject to be taught.

Sometimes I feel like I act like a stupid not missing out even the smallest event, certainly not receiving the same treatment from the others. But then I realize that the biggest joy for me is to find myself next to the person who in that moment needed me… because really, there was no other place where I was supposed to be.

5 thoughts on “Just Be There

  1. Love love LOVE this post. I’ve been here before and have finally hit the point of not giving power to those people and just stop inviting them. Excellent post! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Cristina,

    I think you are very fortunate. This may sound like a strange thing to say, but knowing the people you are referring to allows you to focus on those who deserve your attention. It is better than having to go through people who ‘pretends’ to be there for you.

    Like

  3. Yes, we have to live in the present and be there physically and mentally. You will make time if it’s important to you. This helps you determine who your real friends are. Who you should be there for.

    Like

  4. Many times, people are physically there but their attention and thoughts are somewhere else. I hate that. You might as well not join, right? Don’t stop being there for even the smallest of events. That’s the beauty in you. Others might just realize it and return the favor. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

